Problems while connecting to Tempest

Get help for problems you may have with technology, math, or women.

Moderator: Turky

Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Ranger Bob on Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:18 am

This is the first time it's happened :|

Tried connecting to Tempest while it was on desert, and got booted out with this message:

Code: Select all
Error:
Unexpected EOF while looking for group '@SIEGE_DESE_TEAM1_REBELS'


I haven't tried connecting while it's on a different map - will do so when it rotates. Any help would be appreciated!

Also, this happened after I installed Sillyroom, if that has any effect.

EDIT: it appears to work after I remove sillyroom from base...
Image
User avatar
Ranger Bob
troll
 
Topic author
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:36 am
Local time: Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:32 am
Karma: -35

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Axiw on Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:00 am

get SMod or ESM :D otherwise you can only have 3 siege maps with custom classes :(
Axiw
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:29 am
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:32 pm
Karma: 0

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Max Rambone on Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:11 am

Yeah, that seems like the right call.

~archi
Eventus stultorum magister.
User avatar
Max Rambone
Ramboner
 
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:55 am
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:32 pm
Karma: 16

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Turky on Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:12 pm

I actually can't believe Nugget didn't know about this issue till now. :|

And also, I'm not positive if the latest SMod actually fixed EOF. If it does that'd be awesome...
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Turky
dude weighs like 90 pounds
 
Posts: 3012
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: the great communist world of china
Highscores: 1
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:32 pm
Karma: -132

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Ranger Bob on Fri Dec 30, 2011 1:42 am

I have ESM. Turk, I might have had the issue too long ago for me to remember it.
Image
User avatar
Ranger Bob
troll
 
Topic author
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:36 am
Local time: Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:32 am
Karma: -35

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Ranger Bob on Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:24 am

I looked at the thread for custom maps on Impulse and saw the part about EOF errors. How exactly does ESM fix it? What else am I supposed to do with the custom class maps, lol :oops:
Image
User avatar
Ranger Bob
troll
 
Topic author
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:36 am
Local time: Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:32 am
Karma: -35

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Axiw on Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:44 pm

Try deleting *.dll files from japlus folder (not base)!
If that doesn't help make sure you have esm in BOTH base and japlus. (EDIT: if you have japlus client)
Axiw
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:29 am
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:32 pm
Karma: 0

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Duo on Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:11 am

Ranger Bob wrote:I looked at the thread for custom maps on Impulse and saw the part about EOF errors. How exactly does ESM fix it? What else am I supposed to do with the custom class maps, lol :oops:

EOF error occurs when you have more than 3 siege maps with custom classes in your base folder. ESM just removes that limit. It's a bug in the game they never patched for whatever reason. Considering we only regularly play 2 custom maps, you shouldn't *need* ESM really.
Image
User avatar
Duo
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:36 pm
Location: Chile
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:32 pm
Karma: -25

Re: Problems while connecting to Tempest

Postby Kerafym on Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:23 pm

Duo wrote:
Ranger Bob wrote:I looked at the thread for custom maps on Impulse and saw the part about EOF errors. How exactly does ESM fix it? What else am I supposed to do with the custom class maps, lol :oops:

EOF error occurs when you have more than 3 siege maps with custom classes in your base folder. ESM just removes that limit. It's a bug in the game they never patched for whatever reason. Considering we only regularly play 2 custom maps, you shouldn't *need* ESM really.


It was actually intentional. They put a limit on how many class files can be loaded, so when it tries to read a class file that isn't loaded it reaches the end of the file prematurely (immediately), giving you the end of file error. The fix for this is literally just changing the default value (which is like 32 or something) to something obscenely high like 1024 or something.
Hi. I'm angry on the internet.
User avatar
Kerafym
jkb's bro & svail's fiend
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:07 pm
Local time: Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:32 pm
Karma: -1


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron