I found a bug in Cargo

Discuss our favorite gametype.

Should we fix this bug?

YES - I personally like the idea of adding O chewie Conc, and I think we should fix this bug.
7
64%
YES - I don't personally like the idea of adding O chewie Conc, but I respect that it is Oinkerwinkle's original intention.
0
No votes
NO - I personally like the idea of adding O chewie Conc, but we have been playing without it for years and it's 2015. Let's not change it.
2
18%
NO - I personally don't like the idea of adding O chewie Conc, and we have been playing without it for years and it's 2015 anyway. Let's not change it.
2
18%
 
Total votes : 11

I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Duo on Sun Oct 18, 2015 1:46 pm

Cargo offense chewie has melee, bowcaster, and rockets. Right? Well if you look at the class files inside the pk3....it's actually supposed to have concussion rifle, too (lol). But Oink made a typo when he wrote the name of the weapon, and as a result the game doesn't properly recognize it.

The file says
weapons WP_MELEE|WP_BOWCASTER|WP_ROCKET_LAUNCHER|WP_CONCUSSION_RIFLE


But WP_CONCUSSION_RIFLE isn't the correct name of the weapon. It's supposed to be just WP_CONCUSSION. JA won't recognize the weapon name unless it's 100% correct. If there are any incorrect letters, you don't get the weapon.

The valid weapons for JA are:
WP_NONE, WP_STUN_BATON, WP_MELEE, WP_SABER, WP_BRYAR_PISTOL, WP_BLASTER, WP_DISRUPTOR, WP_BOWCASTER, WP_REPEATER, WP_DEMP2, WP_FLECHETTE, WP_ROCKET_LAUNCHER, WP_THERMAL, WP_TRIP_MINE, WP_DET_PACK, WP_CONCUSSION, WP_BRYAR_OLD, WP_EMPLACED_GUN, WP_TURRET


We could easily fix this by changing it to
weapons WP_MELEE|WP_BOWCASTER|WP_ROCKET_LAUNCHER|WP_CONCUSSION


Shows the extent to which he tested this damn map. Anyway, fixing this isn't really "changing" anything away from Oink's original intentions. It's like fixing Hoth bridge crusher lame, it's just fixing a shitty bug that the creator didn't realize existed.
Image
User avatar
Duo
 
Topic author
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:36 pm
Location: Chile
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:37 am
Karma: -25

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Blackout on Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:19 pm

I voted no (bottom option) but I don't want to play cargo ever again anyway.
Image
User avatar
Blackout
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 8:21 am
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:37 pm
Karma: 0

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Duo on Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:22 pm

Blackout wrote:I voted no (bottom option) but I don't want to play cargo ever again anyway.

I don't like it either. But as with Korriban, I'm all for getting maps to work optimally, even if I don't personally like them. There's also currently a bug with b_e causing the server to crash if you destroy the stations. I will look into it soon.
Image
User avatar
Duo
 
Topic author
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:36 pm
Location: Chile
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:37 am
Karma: -25

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Blackout on Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:37 pm

I'm sure he played the map a fair bit and if it had been so important or wanted he would have added conc rifle anyway.
Image
User avatar
Blackout
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 8:21 am
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:37 pm
Karma: 0

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Laser on Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:37 pm

I voted yes. The map is heavily D stacked and offence could yews a bit of a power up.

Not that I'd ever play cargo anyway.
Less QQ more Pew Pew
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Laser
Kopite
 
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:15 am
Highscores: 1
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:37 pm
Karma: -9

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby aradorasxeon on Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:02 pm

Voted yes for the lolz, not like I gonna appear on that map ever again.
Image

2014.05.05. Thanks for al the fun!

"Nah, I go."
User avatar
aradorasxeon
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:16 pm
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:37 pm
Karma: 0

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Sith on Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:03 pm

2s/3s/4s cargo ?
Sith
Lime green
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:20 am
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:37 pm
Karma: 3

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Blackout on Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:34 pm

Sith wrote:2s/3s/4s cargo ?


No thanks.
Image
User avatar
Blackout
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 8:21 am
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:37 pm
Karma: 0

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Duo on Sun Oct 18, 2015 9:03 pm

Could also hardcode this in base_entranced as a cvar (g_fixCargoWeapons), but that still doesn't solve whether or not it "should" be 1 or 0...
Image
User avatar
Duo
 
Topic author
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:36 pm
Location: Chile
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:37 am
Karma: -25

Re: I found a bug in Cargo

Postby Magyk on Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:53 am

I voted for Option 3.

I would have voted for an option to create a separate map.

Cargo Classic and Cargo 2015.

Edit: When did this trend of "LOL NEVER PLAYING CARGO AGAIN" start?
Image
User avatar
Magyk
Graphics Guru
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Highscores: 3
Local time: Mon Dec 09, 2019 2:37 pm
Karma: -87

Next

Return to JKA Siege

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron