What is it about javascript?

Get help for problems you may have with technology, math, or women.

Moderator: Turky

What is it about javascript?

Postby Laser on Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:42 pm

Hi guys!

In uni I've been studying java, since october in fact. I simply cant do it, we're talking 4 months and they tried to feed us it gradually, which my uni is meant to be good at (student support and all that), Edge Hill University, google it.

I'm no dumbass, it's not language that's the problem, and its not scripting either. I've got good grades under my belt in spanish and french, and even self-taught some italian, and i created a decent flash website in actionscript2 last year. Javascript goes right over my head, and so does actionscript3, both of which are object-based scripting languages.

I dont think its laziness, i have genuinely tried to learn it. Ive attempted the tasks and tried to go through the tutorials, all to no avail. As soon as i get a task to do with no sample code, i simply dont even know where to start, if i see code i dont have even the faintest idea what to do.

I really want to pin it down to something, so my question is this: what is it about javascript that is stopping me from learning it? Am i just a retard? Dyslexic? Should i be in an institute?
Less QQ more Pew Pew
Laser
Kopite

Topic author
Highscores: 1
Local time: Thu May 16, 2024 5:40 pm

Re: What is it about javascript?

Postby Magyk on Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:00 pm

Is this a rhetorical question?
Magyk
Graphics Guru

Highscores: 3
Local time: Thu May 16, 2024 12:40 pm

Postby Laser on Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:18 pm

Magyk wrote:Is this a rhetorical question?

no, otherwise i wouldnt have posted it here :(

i genuinely want an answer, perhaps someone who has dealings with the evil javascript or a psychologist to say that i have a mental block on programming because my dad didnt pay me enough attention when i was a baby and tried to forcefeed me cucumber which i hate :(
Less QQ more Pew Pew
Laser